Work with us
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Voting for special district commissioners
Elections on Tuesday, Dec. 11
Christine Daly/Herald
Five Towns fire districts will hold commissioner elections on Dec. 11.

Fire districts in the Five Towns area including Atlantic Beach, Hewlett Bay, Inwood, Meadowmere Park, Lawrence North and Woodmere will hold elections for commissioners on Tuesday, Dec. 11.
All commissioner terms expire on Dec. 31. The terms are for five years and will span from Jan. 1, 2013 to Dec. 31, 2017.
The Atlantic Beach Fire District has one commissioner running for re-election Jeffrey Trott. He is unopposed.
Voting is between 6 and 9 p.m. at Atlantic Beach Fire Rescue Headquarters at One Rescue Road in Atlantic Beach.
Incumbent Pat Tudda is running unopposed for another commissioner term for the Hewlett Bay Fire District. In addition, the district has a proposition on the ballot to change the treasurer position from an elected to an appointed position beginning Jan. 1, 2015.
Polls will be open from 5 to 9 p.m. at the firehouse at 25 Franklin Ave. in Hewlett.
Mark L. Rolon, an incumbent commissioner is also running unchallenged in the Inwood Fire District. Voting will take place at the firehouse at 188 Doughty Blvd. in Inwood from 6 to 9 p.m.
Ed Samuelson, the incumbent commissioner running in the Meadowmere Park Fire District is unopposed. Election hours are from 6 to 9 p.m. at the firehouse at 14 Meyer Ave. in Meadowmere Park.
In the Lawrence North Fire District, incumbent Commissioner Vincent Leone is also running unchallenged. Voting takes place at the Five Towns Community Center at 270 Lawrence Ave. in Lawrence between 6 and 9 p.m.
The polls will be open in the Woodmere Fire District from 6 to 9 p.m., at the firehouse at 20 Irving Place in Woodmere. Incumbent Commissioner David Miller is running unopposed.

Lawrence-Cedarhurst Fire Department elections will be held on Dec. 4. Run differently from the fire districts, the LCFD, which is contracted to provide fire protection to the villages of Cedarhurst and Lawrence and the North Lawrence and East Lawrence first districts holds private elections.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Terms of Use | Advertising | Careers | Contact Us | Community Links © 2016 Richner Communications, Inc.