Five Towns Chabad honors supporters and leaders on Feb. 24


The Jean Fischman Chabad Center of the Five Towns invites community members to attend its Feb. 24 gala honoring several primary supporters and other leaders for their commitment and compassion.

Guests of Honor are Dr. Rubin and Mandy Brecher, Dr. Mendel and Aliza Fundo, Vitaliy and Natalya Mikinberg and the Gan Chamesh (pre-school) Parents of the Year are Gregory and Ivy Levi.

Rubin and Mandy both grew up in Flatbush and have been living in Lawrence for the past 27 years.  Rubin, an ophthalmologist, specializes in medical retina, and Mandy runs the financial side of the practice. They have been affiliated with several synagogues, including Young Israel of Lawrence Cedarhurst, Congregation Aish Kodesh and Rabbi Grubbers. They travel often and enjoy visiting Chabad houses across the world. They have four children and six grandchildren.

Aliza and Mendel moved to Cedarhurst nine years ago from Teaneck, New Jersey. Both had families that came from the former Soviet Union. Mendel was 9 and Aliza was 15 when their families emigrated. They work together at their dental practice in Forest Hills. They along with their children Michali, Yoni and Levi, are Chabad of the Five Towns members.

Vitaliy and Natalya are known for their dedication to the community.  Natalya is a 26-year real estate veteran and the founder of the nearly 20-year-old Hewlett-based V.I. Properties, it has serviced the Five Towns for 26 years. Vitaliy is a mechanical engineer. Natalya said her biggest joy is contributing to and supporting her community.  She enjoys being with her two daughters and five grandchildren.

Gregory and Ivy moved to Woodmere from Manhattan roughly two years ago.  After originally pursuing an investment career, Greg discovered the depth of the Torah and currently a portfolio manager at Loews Corporation. Even after studying communications, Ivy was inspired by the thought of living an authentic Torah life and attended Neve Yerushalayim in Jerusalem. She later worked in the Jewish outreach at the Brownstone in Manhattan and dedicates herself to her family.

Chabad will also honor Friendship Circle Presidents Meira Adler, Miriam Borenstein, Zahava Graff, Beckey Haviv, Illana Katz, Leah Katz, Julia Klayman, Esther Medows, Anabelle Muller, Gabby Nakkab, Yishai Attis, Shuey Feierman and Jonah Naiman.

Chabad will honor CTeen leaders Dora Aronov, Rachel Bohnik, Ellie Cohen, Mia Gwirtzman, Jordan Myers, Evetta Poley, Justin Sajovitz, and Sasha Teplish.

It’s Sunday at 6:30 p.m. with a dinner buffet, the awards presentation at 7:45 p.m. and a lavish Viennese dessert, all in the grand ballroom of the Sephardic Temple at 755 Branch Blvd. in Cedarhurst.  It’s $600 per couple. To RSVP, call (516) 295-2478 or email