HAFTR seniors are commended National Merit scholars


Hebrew Academy of the Five Towns and Rockaway High School seniors Arieh Chaiken, Benjamin Gottesman, Miriam Kopyto, and Rafael Levin are part of the 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation that were recognized for their exceptional academic promise in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program.

A letter of commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program, was presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.

Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

National Merit Program officials said that all the students, “represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.”