Peninsula Kiwanis awards its college scholarships


Peninsula Kiwanis held its annual Scholarship Awards Night Dinner in Lynbrook at Angelina’s restaurant on June 13.

Six of the eight student winners from Hewlett and Lawrence high schools and their families attended and received plaques and $500 toward college expenses, which acknowledged their scholastic excellence and community service.

Recipients from Lawrence High School include Octavio Perez (Don Leone Memorial), Emily Prashad (Lou Costa Memorial), Jece Abuan (Dr. Al Rosenberg Memorial) and Carlos Duran (Jack Ropers Memorial).

Recipients from Hewlett High School include Cristina Curra (Hewlett Key Club), Christina Cascione (Joseph T. Remo Memorial), Shelby Love (Dr. Arnold Treitman Memorial) and Chris Rodriguez (Domenic Sciarrotta Sr. Memorial).