New Hyde Park students earn national distinction


Eight students from New Hyde Park Memorial High School were named Commended Students in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Over one million U.S. high school students vie for this distinction by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The highest scoring 34,000 students are named Commended Students, “in recognition of their outstanding academic promise,” according to a statement released by the high school.

Eight New Hyde Park Memorial High School students, Rahi Bhatia, Samantha Chang, Hannah Kim, Anitta Kottai, Ivie Li, Miranda Lin, Eric Orbon and Prabhpreet Singh, received the award along with a letter of commendation.

Courtesy Sewanhaka Central High School District; Compiled by Robert Traverso


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here