WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Epstein, Versocki win trustee seats on the Sea Cliff Village Board

Elena Villafane is Sea Cliff’s new mayor after uncontested election


Incumbent Sea Cliff Village Trustee Dina Epstein and challenger James Versocki came out on top following Tuesday’s election, garnering 699 and 582 votes respectively to win a seat on the village board. Fellow challenger Jim Mozer received 468 votes.

Village Trustee and Deputy Mayor Elena Villafane ran uncontested for mayor, capping off the election with 826 votes.

Epstein and Versocki have been on the forefront of the village’s fight for public water and both listed the municipalization of its water supply as one of their main goals for the upcoming term.

Epstein had a great deal of plans in 2020 halted by the coronavirus pandemic, and she said she looks forward to accomplishing as many of them as possible in her new term. Versocki has expressed many goals for his term, such as increasing government transparency, ensuring that developments in the village are done properly and environmentally safe and helping the village run in a fiscally prudent way to recover from the pandemic.