Introducing Lawrence's top scholars for 2023


Matthew Sharin is the valedictorian; Arundhi Patram is the salutatorian and Emma Urgen, the honor speaker for Lawrence High School’s Class of 2023.

Sharin, a member of the National Honor Society, was a national Merit Scholar, an Advanced Placement Scholar with Honor Award recipient, earned a first place award for his presentation for the 2020 Merit Marvels competition, and received the American Chemical Society’s Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Award.     

He took part on the Debate Team and in the History Club, was the varsity captain in Quiz Bowl, served as president and captain of Science Bowl and vice president of the Tri-M Music Honor Society, wrote for the school newspaper the Mental Pabulum, performed as a cellist for the orchestra, honor string and pit orchestra, and took part in the New York State School Music Association All-State Orchestra and the National Association for Music Education All-Eastern Orchestra, both in upstate Rochester.     

Also a member of the National Honor Society, Patram took part in the Yearbook, Media and Key clubs and Quiz Bowl, served on the Homecoming Committee, captained the school’s Color Guard, was president of Friends Helping America and a member of Model Congress.

President of the Tri-M Music Honor Society, Urgen was vice president of the National Honor Society, treasurer of the Student Government Association, chief executive officer of the high school’s Virtual Enterprise and a member of DECA (Distributive Education Clubs of America). 

She played varsity badminton and was a math mentor. Urgen was on the 4th Precinct Youth Council, the concertmaster of the school’s Orchestra, in honors strong ensemble and pit orchestra.

Urgen participated in the NAFME All-Eastern Symphony Orchestra, the NYSSMS All-State Orchestra, Long Island Youth Orchestra, was a concerto competition winner, concertmaster of both 2023 The Nassau Music Educators Association Division V All-County Symphony Orchestra, the Long Island Strong Festival and an All-National Symphony Orchestra alternate.