School News

Lynbrook seniors receive local scholarships


Lynbrook pride was once again evident as family and friends gathered to acknowledge the accomplishments of graduates of the Class of 2014 at Lynbrook High School’s annual Senior Awards Night. Students received more than $100,000 in scholarship awards, including $20,000 in scholarships that were made possible through the generosity of the Lynbrook PTA Scholarship Fund. Students were recognized not only for their exceptional academic accomplishments, but also for exhibiting exemplary leadership, citizenship and commitment to service in the Lynbrook community.

The PTA scholarships, presented by Lynbrook Council of PTAs co-presidents Lois Kemp and Suzanne DiBenedetto, were awarded to Lauren Baron, Megan Baron, Richard Beltran, Kaitlin Brodsky, Lauren Costanza, Tyler DeMarinis, Emily Henshaw, Allen Labbe, Sage Licursi, Vincent Marano, Nikoletta Markou, Winifred Mei, Katherine Moreno, Adriana Rella and Denise Torres.

Lynbrook Board of Education President Alicemarie Bresnihan and Vice President Robert Paskoff presented the Peter Kostynick Scholarships to Tyler Ambrico, Joshua Burton, Joseph Cappadona, Sarah Chyriswski, Hope Glassman, Tim Hung, Bradley Kaufman, Skyler Kessler, Elayna Kirsch, Griffin Kreit, Seth Moreida, Molly Schiff, Matthew Schneider, Samantha Simon and Taylor Wainer.

The Lynbrook Chamber of Commerce Community Service Awards were presented to Casey Barrett, Sara Chyriwski, Bradley Kaufman, Paul Papandrew, Celeste Samuel and Colin Sincinito.

In other notable community-based awards, Caroline Krendel was named the Historical Society of East Rockaway and Lynbrook Heritage Scholar. Emma Duncliffe, Genny Freiman, Madison Herrmann and Jenifer Rudish received scholarships from Long Island Blood Services. The Dennis Buckley Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Joseph Grossi. Joshua Tierney was the recipient of the Bern Seiderman Memorial Scholarship.

The Lynbrook Teachers’ Association Awards for Academic Excellence went to Jessica Bedson, Joseph Cappadona, Derek Colannino, Kirk Doupe, Hope Glassman, Daniel Gomm, Skyler Kessler, Elayna Kirsch, Molly Schiff, Anthony Zee and Michael Zirkel.

Friends of Lynbrook Robotics Scholarships were presented to Richard Beltran, Alex Berman, Joseph Cappadona, Adam Estrin, Daniel Gomm, Tim Hung, Bradley Kaufman and Michael Towson.

The last award of the evening, the Santo J. Barbarino “Owls of Excellence” Scholarship was presented to Emma Duncliffe. This award was created by the Lynbrook Teachers Association to honor the memory of former Superintendent Dr. Santo Barbarino.