New officers for Baldwin Fire Department


The Baldwin Fire Department recently installed its new officers for 2019. They will support newly installed Chief of Department Peter Ortiz.

Lee Streithorst was named first deputy chief, Timothy Hughes was named second and Brien Cummings was named third deputy chief. The deputy chiefs typically work their way up the ranks to chief of department.

Additionally, Ortiz was named Baldwin’s delegate to the 2nd Battalion Fire District — which encompasses Baldwin, Freeport, Island Park, Long Beach, Oceanside and Point Lookout-Lido. Francis Slover won a three-year term as department secretary, Thomas Fitzsimmons will serve as department treasurer for three years and Craig Yanantuono won another three-year term as department historian.

The following are the results for elections for captains of hose and ladder companies:

Jared Rennert for Hose One;

Steven Sotomayer for Hose Two;

Timothy Ennis for Hose Three;

Clyde Riggins for Hose Four;

John Riggins for Truck One;

Timothy Hagan for Ladder Two; and

Gary Hecker for First Aid