Todd Kaminsky defeats Chris McGrath

Melissa "Missy" Miller wins as a first-time candidate in the 20th A.D.


The race between Inwood native and Hewlett resident Chris McGrath and State Sen. Todd Kaminsky (D-Long Beach) on Tuesday was as close as it was in April’s special election, but Kaminsky prevailed over his Republican rival. Green Party candidate Laurence S. Hirsh of North Woodmere garnered 1 percent of the vote.

"We had a message that resonated, we had a plan, because the days of pay to play and cronyism have to be over," Kaminsky said. "We've seen too much of it in the last few years."

First-time candidate Melissa “Missy” Miller of Atlantic Beach defeated Long Beach County Councilman Anthony Eramo, the Democratic candidate, and Joseph Naham of the Green Party, who had just under 2 percent of the vote.

“I have a platform I plan on continuing to follow by fighting to maintain the tax cap and getting more accessibility and disability awareness. I have every intention of fighting and advocating in Albany,” Miller said.

Assemblywoman Michaelle Solages (D-Elmont) won re-election over Republican opponent Robert Bogle, and another incumbent, Assemblyman Brian Curran (R-Lynbrook), defeated Democratic challenger Travis Bourgeois.

Hempstead Town Councilman Anthony D’Esposito, a Republican, was elected to represent Council District 4, defeating Democrat Douglas Mayer.

U.S. Rep. Kathleen Rice (D-Garden City) defeated Republican challenger David Gurfein, and Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-St. Albans), whose district includes Inwood, Elmont and parts of Valley Stream, was elected to a 10th term, overcoming a challenge from Republican Michael O’Reilly and Green Party candidate Frank Francois.

Sen. Charles Schumer (D-NY) overwhelmingly won re-election defeating GOP challenger Wendy Long.

District Winner Opponent

20th A.D. Melissa Miller— 52% Anthony Eramo — 46%

21st A.D. Brian Curran— 57% Travis Bourgeois — 43%

22nd A.D. Michaelle Solages— 67% Robert Bogle — 33%

9th S.D. Todd Kaminsky— 52% Chris McGrath — 47%

4th C.D. Kathleen Rice— 60% David Gurfiein — 40%

5th C.D. Gregory Meeks— 73% Michael O’Reilly — 26%

4th TOH Council

Anthony D'Esposito-62%

Douglas Mayer- 38%