Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council was May’s Hometown Hero


At the May 29 East Rockaway Board of Education meeting, the eight members of the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council were recognized as Hometown Heroes for their contributions to the East Rockaway School Community.

The eight student ambassadors were nominated for their positions on the council by their respective principals for their leadership potential and their passion for enhancing the lives of their fellow students. The 2023 to 24 ambassadors are Jaron Brown, Abigail Cabral, Claire Harvey, Timmy Poland, Kaley Thorp, Henry Tyrell, Georgia Vesce, and Charlotte Webster.

The council has been instrumental in collaborating with the central office administration this year and have shared many insightful ideas on topics such as academics, extracurricular offerings, food, health, safety, and fostering a school culture that prioritizes kindness.

The East Rockaway School District noted in a press release that they thank the council for their service.