Cedarhurst Trustees Dan Plaut and Myrna Zisman gain new four-year terms


Cedarhurst village Trustees Dan Plaut and Myrna Zisman each earned another four-year term after balloting on March 19.

Running unopoosed, Zisman collected 212 votes and 207 voted for Plaut. 

The village board of trustee’s main responsibilities includes managing the budget of the village, as well as safety and security.

Focusing on the fiscal end, Plaut previously told the Herald: “It’s laser focused that the money should be used carefully and diligently with respect to the village residents as well as the businesses in the village."

Plaut filled a board vacancy, when former Trustee Ronald Lanzilotta stepped down in 2019. Plaut was re-elected in the postponed election of 2020.

In his next term, Plaut aims to amp up the village's security and maintaining its beauty.  

Zisman has served as a trustee since 2006, and held a  position on the Board of Zoning Appeals for a year when she started.

Saying that she loves Cedarhurst, the vitality of the business district is at the top of her list.

“We’re working very hard with our mayor and the rest of our board to make sure Cedarhurst remains a viable village,” Zisman said previously. “We’re the only ones that have the line of retail stores that we do.”